Nominate your community for the 2019 Open for Business Awards

The Open for Business Awards recognize and promote B.C. communities that have implemented leading business friendly policies and initiatives that attract, retain and help small businesses.  By partnering with Small Business BC, the program provides an important platform for local governments to learn from their peers by sharing success stories and showcasing initiatives that have had a meaningful impact on small business in their communities.

Winning communities proudly display the Open for Business logo in promotional materials as a testament to the Open for Business culture entrepreneurs and business owners will find in their community.

“Being an Open for Business Award winner helped put Campbell River on the map.  Following the announcement, we received significant media attention and have experienced an uptake in interest from investors and new business”. Rose Klukas, Development Officer, Campbell River.

Over 100 B.C. communities have participated since the program’s inception in 2011.


Best Practices Guide
Previous Winners

To learn more about local government initiatives that are considered best practices, please click on the PDF below:


To view the lists of finalists and winners, please click on the links below:



2018 Open for Business Awards

2016 Open for Business Awards 

2015 Open for Business Awards

2014 Open for Business Awards

2013 Open for Business Awards

2012 Most Small Business-Friendly Awards

2011 Most Small Business-Friendly Awards