The Mainland/Southwest includes Greater Vancouver, the Fraser Valley and the Sunshine Coast, and stretches north to include Whistler, Pemberton and Lillooet. It is home to 3 million people or 61.1% of the provincial population. Vancouver is the financial and business capital of B.C. with many businesses headquartered in the region. Major sectors include trade and financial services, transportation, education, secondary manufacturing, tourism and agriculture.


The following list of organizations offer services and programs dedicated to helping small businesses succeed in the region.

Small Business BC, Vancouver

Futurpreneur BC

Women's Enterprise Centre, Vancouver

Chambers of Commerce

Mobile Business Licence Agreements

The following areas hold a Mobile Licence Agreement for mobile businesses in their areas. Check with the local municipality to see if a Mobile Business Licence can apply to your mobile business type.

  • Fraser Valley: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Delta, Hope, Kent, Langley City, Langley Township, Maple Ridge, Mission, Pitt Meadows, Surrey, Harrison Hot Springs, Merritt
  • Metro West: Burnaby, Delta, New Westminster, Richmond, Surrey, Vancouver
  • Tri-Cities Area: Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody
  • North Shore: North Vancouver City, North Vancouver District, West Vancouver
  • Sunshine Coast: Gibsons, Sechelt, shíshálh Nation

Aboriginal Financial Institutions


Spotlight on Bakau Consulting

Categories: Lower Mainland/Southwest

Bakau Consulting is a full-service equity, inclusion, and anti-racism consulting firm located on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territories of the Musqueam, Squamish, and Tsleil-Waututh peoples. The firm has grown from one to 21 team members in four years. View the full interview: Bakau Consulting Website: Bakau… Read More

Show all Spotlights for Region